Skip to main content

Responsible Investing

EdenTree’s thought-leadership research draws on an unrivalled depth of expertise that has built up over 35 years as pioneers in responsible and sustainable investing.

Our Philosophy

We pride ourselves on taking a truly active approach to investing.

For us, this means being benchmark aware, not benchmark constrained. We have found this contrarian approach can deliver significant outperformance over the long-term when combined with fundamental stockpicking factors to identify intrinsically sound, value-orientated companies. Combined with our responsible and sustainable investment process, this provides us with a truly active edge to our portfolios.

RI-philosophy
RI-philosophy-mob

Our Process

Our fund managers and responsible investment team work in parallel to deliver Performance with Principles.

We employ a process whereby responsible and sustainable factors are fully integrated into the investment management process, with our fund managers and responsible investment team working side by side to generate ideas, analyse opportunities, create meaningful and diversified portfolios and undertake ongoing evaluation.

At a stock level, we look for companies that have meaningful market share, strong cash-flows, good management, robust balance sheets, high levels of recurring revenues and high barriers to entry – in short, business models that can deliver regardless of the macroeconomic and geo-political backdrop.

RI-process
RI-process-mob

Filter by

Loading

Engaging for Change: Water, climate change and financial inclusion lead engagement themes
Opinion 20 Feb 2024

Engaging for Change: Water, climate change and financial inclusion lead engagement themes

read more
SDR and the new investment labels: bringing a high bar to the UK
Opinion 17 Jan 2024

SDR and the new investment labels: bringing a high bar to the UK

read more
The missing part of net zero
Opinion 06 Dec 2023

The missing part of net zero

read more
The House of the Future May Not Be Quite As We Know It
Opinion 17 Nov 2023

The House of the Future May Not Be Quite As We Know It

read more
Regenerative Agriculture
Opinion 27 Jul 2023

Regenerative Agriculture

read more
How do you solve a problem like AIM?
Opinion 02 Jun 2023

How do you solve a problem like AIM?

read more
Engaging for Change – Our priorities for 2023
Opinion 11 Jan 2023

Engaging for Change – Our priorities for 2023

read more
When mining can be a responsible investment - our investment in Imerys
Opinion 29 Nov 2022

When mining can be a responsible investment - our investment in Imerys

read more
Financing the cost of climate change: a potential COP out?
Opinion 11 Nov 2022

Financing the cost of climate change: a potential COP out?

read more
Engaging for Change – Our priorities for 2022
Opinion 17 Jan 2022

Engaging for Change – Our priorities for 2022

read more
Reflections on COP26
Opinion 09 Dec 2021

Reflections on COP26

read more
Why investors require better: The flawed world of ESG ratings
Opinion 16 Jun 2021

Why investors require better: The flawed world of ESG ratings

read more

Partnerships

World Benchmarking Alliance

The World Benchmarking Alliance has developed a series of benchmarks assessing 2,000 of the world’s most influential companies, ranking and measuring them on their contributions to the SDGs. These include the Corporate Human Rights, Gender and Just Transition Benchmarks.

ISS-ESG

ISS-ESG is a leader in ESG and Corporate Governance research, data and analytics, and supports EdenTree’s research process with insights on company environmental, social and governance data, helping to identify social and environmental risks and opportunities.

The Access to Medicine Index

The Access to Medicine Index ranks pharmaceutical and healthcare companies on how they make medicines, vaccines and diagnostics more accessible in low and middle-income countries. EdenTree has been a supporter since its inception.

The Access to Nutrition Index

The Access to Nutrition Index assesses the contribution the private sector makes to addressing global nutrition challenges and facilitate improved diets by ranking companies in the food and beverage sector on their approach to obesity and under-nutrition. Health & Wellbeing is one of our positive pillars so this is an important area for EdenTree and we have been a supporter since inception.

Corporate Human Rights Benchmark

CHRB, the Corporate Benchmark on Human Rights ranks companies based on the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights, as well as additional standards for various industries. This is a new initiative and EdenTree is a founder supporter.

Business Benchmark on Animal Welfare

BBFAW, the Business Benchmark on Farm Animal Welfare is a global measure of company performance on farm animal welfare, benchmarking companies on animal welfare standards in the food supply chain. EdenTree has been a leading supporter of the initiative since inception.